Hall of Fame voting

Voting members of the Baseball Writers Association of America have until Dec. 31 to mail their Hall of Fame ballots, so I stopped by the post office and sent mine earlier today.

Among the newcomers are Roberto Alomar, Edgar Martinez and Barry Larkin. Still on the ballot are Bert Blyleven, Andre Dawson, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Lee Smith and Alan Trammell, among others.

Last year at this time I read some of your opinions, and you've heard the reasoning behind each of my votes, as well. So it should come as no surprise that only four players received my vote: Blyleven, Dawson, Morris and Trammell. I've voted for all four of these guys consistently, which is my policy. Unlike some writers, I do not vote for different players depending on the strength of the ballot. Either I believe they're Hall of Famers or I don't. I've only changed my mind once since I began voting six years ago. I did not vote for Blyleven in year one, but I was convinced by several sources to take a closer look, and I've been voting for him ever since.

So I'm willing to listen. Make your argument... for next year's ballot, anyway.

What are your thoughts about Martinez and Baines, who were one-dimentional designated hitters for much of their careers? What about McGwire and all of the suspected steroid users that will follow? And let's be honest... do you think I'm being a total homer by voting for Morris and Trammell? I have answers for all of these questions, but I thought you'd like to throw out your opinions first.

I look forward to your comments.


  1. OK, I've got to admit... I'm already second-guessing myself about leaving Roberto Alomar off the ballot. And my reason for not voting for Larkin might be unfair (If Trammell's not in, Larkin doesn't deserve it, either). But I have thick skin... Feel free to jump on the "woulda, coulda, shoulda" wagon. I'm fully prepared to make things right next year... if I feel I need to.

  2. Hey Jeff,

    Great choices with Dawson and Blyleven. Tim Raines and Lee Smith would receive my other two votes.

    If there was never a Rickey Henderson, we would see Tim Raines differently. Similar to Trammell with Ripken Jr. Because Henderson and Ripken were the very elite, it makes Raines and Trammell fall in comparsion.

    As for Smith, he sat the saves record bar for Hoffman and Rivera to reach. If he started his career five years later when the closer role really became prominent, who knows how many saves he would have reached.

    Andre Dawson for the Hall of Fame

  3. Great post, Jeff. I agree with all your selections, and share your angst about Alomar and Larkin.
    You are not a homer in your indignation that Jack Morris does not get in; he was great not only in Detroit, but in another small-town market, Mpls/St. Paul.
    Charley, you make a good point about Trammel not quite being as good as Ripken, but he still deserves recognition, does he not? (BTW, welcome to "The Corner." Ya'll come back, I always thought the Tigers and Cubs were similar clubs in many ways.)